Fellowships & Awards


E. Han Kim Doctoral Fellowship Award

The E. Han Kim Doctoral Fellowship was established to support research closely related to corporate governance and/or labor and finance (labor issues related to finance). This fellowship provides generous funding including an academic year stipend, fall and winter term tuition coverage, and health care for an academic year. 

Emil Lakkis E. Han Kim Doctoral Fellowship Recipient 2020-21 is a Finance Ph.D. Candidate at the Ross School of Business, University of Michigan. His research interests lie in the area of corporate finance. In his latest work, he studies the corporate governance implications of the growth in index investing. 

Giacomo BruscoE. Han Kim Doctoral Fellowship Recipient 2019-20 is a Ph.D. candidate in the Economics department at the University of Michigan. Giacomo works in the area of behavioral public finance. His latest project considers the economic effects of  U.S. minimum wage increases. 

Eun Woo KimE. Han Kim Doctoral Fellowship Recipient 2018-19 is a Ph.D. candidate in the Management & Organizations department at the University of Michigan. Her research focuses on corporate governance, shareholder engagement, and human capital. She received her master’s degree in International Business from Yonsei University.

NTT Fellowship Award

The NTT Fellowship Award funds a finance faculty member for one semester, allowing time off from teaching to devote to their research. At the end of this time period, the recipient will present their research results to finance faculty and doctoral students at an annual NTT Fellowship dinner.

Indrajit MitraNTT Fellowship Award Recipient 2017-18 is an Assistant Professor of Finance at the Ross School of Business. His research interests cover theoretical and empirical topics in finance and macroeconomics. Indrajit holds a Ph.D. in theoretical Physics from Princeton University and a Ph.D. in Finance from MIT.

Mitsui Life Doctoral Award

The Mitsui LIfe Doctoral Award recognizes the achievements of outstanding Ph.D. students in the area of finance. Ph.D. students are eligible for either “Best 1st Year Overall Academic Performance” or “Best 2nd Year Overall Performance” and will receive a cash award.  The recipients are honored at the annual Ph.D. Luncheon

George MalikovMitsui Life Ph.D. Award 2nd Year, 2017
George Malikov was awarded the Mitsui Life Award for the best overall performance in his second year as a Ph.D. student in finance at Ross. 

Past Recipients – NTT Fellowship

Indrajit Mitra, 2017-2018
Stefan Zeume 2016-17
Serhiy Kozak, 2015-16 
Cindy Soo, 2014-15 
Martin Schmalz, 2013-14 
Ing-Haw Cheng, 2012-13 
Denis Sosyura, 2011-12 
Ran Duchin, 2010-11 
Amy Dittmar, 2009-10
Francisco Palomino, 2008-09
Kenneth Ahern, 2007-08
Lu Zhang, 2007-08
Amiyatosh Purnanandam, 2006-07
Clemens Sialm, 2006-07
Haitao Li, 2006-07
Jagadeesh Sivadasan, 2006-07
Lu Zheng, 2005-06
Fritz Foley 2004-05
Robert Dittmar 2004-05
Anusha Chari 2002-03
Gordon Hanson 2000-01
Josh Coval/Tyler Shumway 2000-01
David Weinstein 1998-99
Suk Chae Lee 1997-98
Takaaki Wakasugi 1997-98
Bernard Yeung 1996-97
David Hirshleifer 1996-97

Past Recipients – Doctoral Awards
(2012 – 2018)

George Malikov, 2017 (2nd year)
Zhengyang Xu, 2016 (2nd year)
Yan Zhen, 2015 (1st year)
Yifei Wang, 2015 (2nd year)
Yifei Wang, 2014 (1st year)
Rahul Chhabra, 2013 (1st year)
Bret Herzig, 2013 (2nd year)
Bret Herzig, 2012 (1st year)
Sahil Raina, 2012 (2nd year)